Are You Up To It???

Here’s the deal.

Many people would say that in order to share your thoughts about a certain subject, you should have some sort of proven track record, or at least know what you’re talking about. I would agree. However, at times, it’s the talking about it that begins that proverbial track record.

Let me start out with an obvious question: How many of you want to be successful? Well, I hope the answer was 100% in the ‘yes’ category! But allow me to ask a lesser obvious follow-up question: How many of you are willing to do what it takes to be successful?

I think you see where I’m going with that one.

You see, we have so many “New-Year’s-Resolution” moments in our lives, and so little times to we spend the CONSISTENT and PERSISTENT effort it takes to bring those thoughts into fruition.Notice I’m including myself in this; that’s why I said that it takes talking (or blogging) about things to make them happen.

So here’s my challenge; I recently stumbled upon a youtube clip by Robin Sharma titled “How to wake up at 5!” Now you may be wondering if you want to continue reading this, I don’t blame you [insert smile here]. When I saw the title I was instantly interested as I’m one of those freaks that like to get up at hours that shouldn’t even exist on an alarm clock! So, I watched the 5 min clip.

There is so much to be said for taking some time for yourself, before you start the insanity of your day. For the last week I’ve been waking up around 6-7 (I made it up at 5:00 once). In the time that I would normally get an extra hour of sleep I’ve started to journal, read, and exercise a little.

Is this hard? Yes!

But I can tell you that for the last week, I’ve been more clear minded when I get to work; happier, and in result, more successful.

I challenge you to do the same!

Let me know how it goes:
twitter: @ideiru
fb: Costa Deir

6 Responses to “Are You Up To It???”

  1. Hmm… Funny you should talk about this… I have been trying to get up at 5 the past 2 days. In wanting those same things, wanting to have more time to clear my head in the morning… 🙂 Good stuff, thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Did Susie tell you about Robin Sharma? (She was the one who turned me on to him, ha.)

    Anyway, I totally agree with you. I’ve been trying the early morning thing myself lately – though I haven’t yet hit the 5am (or 6 or 7 yet, lol). I used to work late at nights and get up around 10am in the mornings, and it would always really impact my day in not the greatest way. I was just sluggish. I thought I was getting so much done by working late at night but when I really thought about it, I wasn’t. I’ve worked myself up to at least 8am so far, haha, but I still plan to get my wake up time to earlier than that.

    Looking forward to more blog posts from you, Costa!

    • It was Suzy that showed me about Robin Sharma! Little by little is a good way to work at waking up earlier, but sometimes you just gotta go cold-turkey on all that sleep!!

      The best way, as I’m sure you know, is going to bed earlier.

      • hahahaha…I love it!!! Seriously the Leader Who Had No Title is one of the best books I’ve read. One thing I need to get better at is not just waking up early, but being more productive. lol I think I’m going to start talking a walk. 1 step down, next one to go! 🙂 (ps you’ll find just getting up 1 hour earlier = extra 7 hrs. in a week/30 hours in a month/365 hours in a year/3,650 hrs in 10 years…what could you do with an extra 3,650 hrs???? I could conquer the world!! bahahaha)

Leave a Reply

